Phone: 330.220.8600
550 Crane Dr., Valley City, OH 44280

Going to Class On Overhead Cranes

When it comes to overhead cranes, we’ve had a lot of discussions about the type (job, gantry, etc.) – today we are going to look into different classifications of overhead cranes. Luckily, like with most industries, we have an industry association, the Crane Manufacturers Association of America (CMAA). The CMAA classifies overhead cranes by starts per hour as well as the average percentage of lift capacity:

Class A overhead cranes are used for standby service. These class A overhead cranes are typically used for maintenance and/or installation installation as well as handling materials at slow speeds. Class A overhead cranes have long periods of time between use.

Class B overhead cranes are similar to Class A, only need to be durable enough to run at more frequent intervals.

Class C overhead cranes are those that are able to tackle loads that average 50 percent the rated capacity at a frequency of about 5 to 10 lifts at an average of 15 or so feet.

A tad more durable, Class D overhead cranes are for constant use lifting loads at about 50 percent of the overhead crane’s. These overhead cranes typically conduct 10 to 20 lifts per hour, again at 15 feet. 

Class E and Class F cranes are used for strenuous needs. Overhead cranes that are Class E and F include top-riding bridge cranes, gantry cranes, etc. To be deemed a Class F overhead crane, the crane needs to have the capacity to handle loads that are near to their own lifting capacity a majority of the time they are used. So what’s the difference between E and F?  Class F overhead cranes need to be running at almost all times.

EMH Cranes has a grane for every need – and we’d be happy to sit down just what “class” overhead crane is right for you.

More Tech Talk

All About Crane Hoists

Read More

Jib Cranes For Every Need

Read More